<< Previous Page

Despite the repeated periods of backsliding and apostasy, God manifested His grace and the certainty of His original covenant with Abraham by just as repeatedly raising up judges to lead the people in revival and restoration. Altogether, fourteen such judges are named in the book of Judges-- Othniel, Ehud, Shamgar, Deborah and Barak, Gideon, Abimelech, Tola, Jair, Jephthah, Ibzan, Elon, Abdon, and Samson. These were followed by Samuel, the last of the judges. (Eli was priest, rather than a judge). Othniel, the first judge, was of the tribe of Judah; the others came from at least six other tribes.


KJV Defenders Study Bible, by Dr. Henry Morris, Ph.D.
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Language: English
DEF 10 ISBN 0-529-10444-x
DEF 10-1 ISBN 0-529-10445-8

New Testament  |  Old Testament  |  Search  |  Resources  |  Bible Helps  |  Daily Reading