Book: One | Two | Three    Search    Index


Questions??   A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W  Z

Page 324


(Refer to the previous pages for letter keys)

F. The Netherlands Reformed Congregations (1907)

Through the instrumentality of Rev. G. H. Kersten's leadership, the Reformed Congregations Under the Cross and the Van Dyke branch of the Ledeboerian Congregations were united into one denomination in 1907, the Netherlands Reformed Congregations.

G. The Reformed Congregation of the Netherlands or of North America (1953)

Under the leadership of Dr. Steenblok, a split occurred in the Netherlands Reformed Congregations in 1953. Dr. Steenblok opposed the preaching of a sincere offer of grace to all sinners; instead he believed that it was intended for "awakened" or "concerned" hearers.

H. The Doleantie ("The Suffering") (1886)

A large split from the State Reformed Church occurred in 1886 under the leadership of Dr. A. Kuyper. It involved two hundred congregations and seventy-six ministers.

The following actions on the part of Dr. Kuyper and his supporters, to combat the growing liberalization of doctrine and practice in the State Reformed Church, led to this split:

  • The calling of only conservative, sound ministers
  • The formation of the Free University (free from government control) to train more conservative ministers
  • The rejection of confession of faith candidates who would not sign to confess their full agreement with the Three Forms of Unity
  • The refusal to grant clear attestation papers to transferring members who did not fully hold to the Three Forms of Unity
  • The transferring of church property titles to secure their future after a split would occur

I. Christian Reformed Church (1892)

The union of a majority of the Old Christian Reformed Churches with the "Doleantie" churches formed the Christian Reformed Church.

J. Protestant Reformed Church (1926)

Under the leadership of Rev. H. Hoeksema, a split occurred in the Christian Reformed Church in North America in 1926. This group's concern over an overestimation of common grace benefits taking place in the Christian Reformed Church led to the complete rejection of the doctrine of common grace.

K. Canadian or American (Article 31) Reformed Church (1944)

After repeated disagreements with various synodical rulings, this large split from the Christian Reformed Church occurred in the Netherlands in 1944. The objectors appealed to Article 31 of the Church Order which states that synodical rulings shall be binding, unless they are in conflict with the Word of God. This denomination was primarily organized under the leadership of Dr. K. Schilder.

L. Free Reformed Church (1892)

Primarily due to Dr. Kuyper's presumptive regenerational views, a number of Old Christian Reformed congregations refused to unite with the "Doleantie" churches in 1892. These congregations continued under the name of the Old Christian Reformed Church until recently, when they changed their name to Free Reformed Church.

M. Reformed Alliance (1906)

Desiring not to break with the State Reformed Church, this group formed an alliance of churches to serve as a conservative arm of, or component within, the State Reformed Church. The Reformed Alliance holds to the Three Forms of Unity.


Previous PageNext Page

Table of Contents Home Page Holy Bible Screen Saver!

Click here if you wish to obtain printed copies of this book OR more information!

Copyright © 1987, James W. Beeke. All Rights Reserved.