Book: One | Two | Three    Search    Index


Questions??   A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W  Z

Page 359

sacraments had a prophetic aspect to them; they included bloodshedding which pointed to the death of the great Subsitute yet to come. After Christ's death, the full blood price being now paid, a change in sacramental form was required, for the prophetic aspect was now fulfilled. The following chart reveals the unity of sacramental meaning in both testaments and their required changes in form.

When did God institute circumcision, Passover, baptism, and .the Lord's Supper?

Sacramental Meaning

Old Testament Form (Bloody)

New Testament Sacrament Form (Bloodless)

1. Circumcision/ Baptism Entrance into God's Church and the cleansing from sinful uncleanness for believers in the blood of Christ.

Administered once as a person only enters God's church once and a believer is only regenerated once.

This is My covenant, which ye shall keep, between Me and you and thy seed after thee; Every man child among you shall be circumcised.

-Genesis 17:10

And if ye be Christ's, then are ye Abraham's seed, and heirs according to the promise.

-Galatians 3:29

Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost.

-Matthew 28:19

2. Passover/Holy Supper Continual nourishing and strengthening for believers in the death of Christ.

Administered repeatedly as continual nourishment is needed in the lives of all believers.

And it shall come to pass, when your children shall say unto you, What mean ye by this service?

That ye shall say, It is the sacrifice of the LORD'S Passover, who passed over the houses of the children of Israel in Egypt, when He smote the Egyptians, and delivered our houses.

-Exodus 12:26-27a

Purge out therefore the old leaven, that ye may be a new lump, as ye are unleavened. For even Christ our Passover is sacrificed for us.

-I Corinthians 5:7

And when He had given thanks, He brake it, and said, Take, eat: this is My body, which is broken for you: this do in remembrance of Me.

After the same manner also He took the cup, when He had supped, saying, This cup is the New Testament in My blood: this do ye, as oft as ye drink it, in remembrance of Me.

-I Corinthians 11:24-25

Since the Council of Trent, the Roman Catholic Church has taught that there are seven sacraments. These are:

1. Baptism

2. Eucharist (or the Mass)

3. Marriage

4. Confession (of sin to the priest -or Penance)

5. Confirmation (adult membership and participation in the Eucharist)

6. Ordination (of the clergy into church office, or holy orders)

7. Extreme Unction (anointing of the dying with holy oil by a priest)


Previous PageNext Page

Table of Contents Home Page Holy Bible Screen Saver!

Click here if you wish to obtain printed copies of this book OR more information!

Copyright © 1987, James W. Beeke. All Rights Reserved.